The 7 Chakras: A Guide for Modern Yogis

Chakra No. 2: The Svadisthana or Sacral Chakra

“Svadisthana” translated from Sanskrit means “sweetness” or “her favorite standing place.” It is the Sanskrit term that embodies the second chakra. In this article, I will explain the various characteristics of the second or sacral chakra and provide some tips to provide insight into healing to this important energetic center.

Where is the Sacral Chakra located?

The second chakra is located directly about our first chakra (the muladhara chakra) and the base of the spine (Image 1). It lies in the pelvic bowl encompassing the reproductive organs, wombs, hips, sacrum, bladder, kidneys and lower abdominals.

chakras yoga image
Image 1

What is the significance of the Sacral Chakra?

The sacral chakra’s purpose is movement and connection. It is often related and connected to the expressed talents of creativity and emotional intelligence. Moving up from the first chakra being established in safety and trust in the world, Svadisthana chakra is the beginning of exploration through the sensual gates and relationships with others. It governs our right to feel, which includes sensuality, desire for pleasure and adventure, emotional processing, intimacy, relationships and procreation. It is said that our second chakra develops within the first 6 months to 2 years of life as we learn how to express ourselves in the world. Svadisthana chakra is rooted in trust and is driven by a desire to express, create and form connections and meaning in life.

What are the elements of the Sacral Chakra?

Element: Water

Color: Orange –relates to self-respect which supports freedom and healthy boundaries. Orange is the best color for emotional stimulation and it color brings feelings of joy and a healthy appetite for life.

Sense: Taste

Gland: Endocrine (regulates hormones of ovaries and testicles)

Sound: VAM

Essential Oils: To balance this chakra, use essential oils that promote stimulation and awakening of the sense gates as well as sweet pleasurable scents. Oils like orange, rose, bergamot, jasmine and cardamom.

What is it like when the Sacral Chakra is out of balance?

An unbalanced second chakra can show up as a restlessness or lack of association with sensations and emotions, often this is dependent on whether the second chakra is more excessive or deficient.

A deficient or dull second chakra looks rigid in the body and in the mind. It shows up as frigidity, numbness, denial of pleasure, excessive boundaries, poor social skills, creative “blocks” and lack of desire, passion or excitement.

On the other side of the spectrum an excessive sacral chakra tends to lean toward overstimulation or attachment to the senses and sense pleasure. The person may have poor or no boundaries, addictions of pleasures, strong emotional experiences (mood swings, crisis junkies, a high association with feelings (i.e. I am my feelings), manipulation, emotional dependency and obsessive attachment.

Physical malfunctions related to a second chakra imbalance are reproductive disorders, illness of the spleen or urinary system, menstrual difficulties, sexual dysfunction, low back pain, lack of flexibility in the body, numbed senses, or a loss of appetite for food, sex and life.

What does it look when the Sacral Chakra is in balance?

A balance sacral chakra presents as full of joy, grace and is at peace. When it is balanced, the body moves gracefully. People with balance in this chakra exhibit contentment with what they have and a freedom to invite new adventures or experiences into their lives. They have built healthy boundaries that allow them to nurture themselves and others. They have emotional intelligence and use their sexuality and senses for good rather than manipulation or greed. People who have balance here tend to be social, magnetic to others and show a compassion and empathy toward others. They are sensitive to those around them, are good listeners, and are also able to express themselves freely. A balanced second chakra supports creative problem solving and the ability to see new pathways and opportunities to challenges that arise.

What poses awaken the Sacral Chakra?

This chakra is balanced by fluid connective movement and hip openers. Half Pigeon, Double Pigeon, Bound Angle poses, Frog, Happy Baby and Forward Fold poses help to balance the second chakra.

When focusing on this chakra try to connect one pose to the next through fluid movement. Imagine moving your body through water and see if you can find new transitions or sensations between or in the postures.

What other practices heal the Sacral Chakra?

Practices, in addition to yoga, that promote balance and power within the sacral chakra.

  • Mantras – repeat any of these out loud or in your head
    • VAM – pronounced “vaah – mm”
    • I deserve pleasure.
    • I absorb information from my feelings.
    • I move easily and effortlessly.
    • I embrace and celebrate my sexuality.
  • Mulabandha (Pelvic Floor Lock)
  • Movement Therapy
  • Develop healthy boundaries
  • Assign healthy pleasures
  • Seek support or structures around healing addictions



Interested in more content like this? Get social with us: