Yamas & Niyamas are the first two limbs of yoga. Now that the first limb of yoga, Yama, has been explained in the videos Ahimsa, Satya, Asteya, Brahmacharya and Aparigraha, let’s move onto Niyama! Patanjali’s eight-limbed yoga system has a second limb that contains the five internal practices of Niyama: Saucha, Samtosa, Tapas, Svadhyaya and Ishvara Pranidhana. In a series of videos called “Yamas & Niyamas Explained,” retired Iyengar yoga teacher, Felicity Green, helps explain each Yama and Niyama in short videos. Here is what she had to say about Svadhyaya:

Interested in more content like this? Get social with us:



Latest posts by Felicity Green (see all)