Yamas & Niyamas are the first two limbs of yoga. Now that the first limb of yoga, Yama, has been explained in the videos Ahimsa, Satya, Asteya, Brahmacharya and Aparigraha, let’s move onto the Niyamas! Patanjali’s eight-limbed yoga system has a second limb that contains the five internal practices of Niyama: Saucha, Samtosa, Tapas, Svadhyaya and Ishvara Pranidhana. In a series of videos called “Yamas & Niyamas Explained,” retired Iyengar yoga teacher, Felicity Green, helps explain each Yama and Niyama in short videos. Here is what she had to say about Samtosa (aka Santosha):


Interested in more content like this? Get social with us:


Felicity Green

Felicity has practiced yoga since 1962 and has taught Iyengar Yoga since 1970.She has a degree in Occupational Therapy. Having studied extensively with BKS lyengar in India, she has been one of his Advanced Level Teachers since the 1980’s. She has also studied intensively with Swami Radha of the Sivananda tradition, who has also contributed to her personal yoga and teaching style. Felicity used to teach workshops internationally, and now offers individual sessions in Seattle and is willing to do workshops on Pranayama and yoga Philosophy. Felicity holds an Advanced Iyengar Certificate.You can find more about Felicity Green at felicity yoga

Latest posts by Felicity Green (see all)

Related Posts